Keep Britain Tidy

Count your Carbon is brought to you by Keep Britain Tidy, the nation’s favourite environmental charity. Keep Britain Tidy is an independent charity with three goals – to reduce consumption, waste and litter, improve places and help people live more sustainably.

We work with people, businesses, organisations and public bodies to care for and improve the environment on our doorstep. 

Eco-Schools England

Eco-Schools is the nation’s leading environmental schools programme. Over 50% of the schools in the country have been engaged and active on the programme in the last 5 years, with 90% engaging since the programme’s inception in 1994.

In 2021/22, 1.5m pupils attended a school involved in our programme.

People’s Postcode Lottery

Count Your Carbon is made possible thanks to players of  People’s Postcode Lottery.


Calisen is a leading owner and manager of essential energy infrastructure assets, as well as a provider of smart meter, electric vehicle charging and heat pump installation and meter reading, maintenance and ancillary services, whose purpose is to accelerate the development of a cleaner, more efficient and sustainable energy segment.

Arete Zero Carbon

Arete Zero Carbon – one of the UK’s leading Net Zero strategists – has led the development of the model used to calculate carbon footprints and developed recommendations for reductions. Arete’s team has specialist expertise in research, data, analytics, engineering and business with a combined 25+ years of experience in carbon management.

Let’s Go Zero

The project is supported by Let’s Go Zero, a national campaign uniting teachers, pupils, parents and their schools as they all work together to be zero carbon by 2030. Let’s Go Zero is working with national government to ensure the right support is in place to help all schools reach this goal.

Our Partners

Special thanks to

Special thanks to the experts, local authorities, Academy Trusts and settings  who have supported us on this journey. Thank you to;


  • The Carbon Trust
  • Sheffield Hallam University
  • Geographical Association
  • Association for Teaching Citizenship
  • Association for Science Education
  • Dr Diane Boyd
  • The Alliance for Sustainability Leadership in Education (EAUC)

Local Authorities

  • Brighton and Hove City Council (Our City, Our World)
  • Cornwall City Council
  • Durham City Council
  • Ealing City Council
  • Greater Manchester Combined Authority
  • Kirklees Council
  • London Borough of Merton
  • Leicester City Council
  • Manchester City Council
  • Surrey County Council
  • Wirral City Council

Multi- Academy Trusts

  • Oasis Community Learning
  • REAch2 Academy
  • Ormiston Academies Trust

Educational Settings 

  • Bursville Infant Academy
  • Cambourne Village Collage, Cambridge
  • Cassiobury Infant and Nursery School
  • Christ the King School
  • Claremont Primary, Manchester
  • Darlinghurst Academy, Essex
  • Dorothy Barley Junior Academy
  • Jesters Childcare
  • King Edwards Schools, Birmingham
  • St. Christophers High Schools, Blackburn
  • St. Peters High, Manchester
  • St Richard’s RC Primary School
  • St. Wilfreds RC Primary Schools
  • Whalley Range High School for Girls
  • William Ford Junior School